Regular Board Meeting July 20, 2020 Page 2 of 5

The regular meeting of the Board of Education of Palestine Community Unit School District #3 was held at Palestine Grade School, 205 S. Washington St., Palestine, IL on Monday, July 20, 2020. The meeting was called to order by President Biggs at 6:01 p.m.

Secretary Hawkins called the roll with the following members answering present: Jeff Besing, Lloyd (J.R.) Dunlap (by phone), Shari Eckert, Susan Hawkins, and Corie Biggs. Absent: Tara Vennard and Donald Wagoner. Administration present was Jessica Sisil and Tangi Waldrop. Others present were: Jana Bayne, Lindsay Beabout, Kaycee Rodgers, Marcia Schmidlin, Damien Tingley, Ashley Williamson, and Laura York.

It was moved by Shari Eckert and seconded by Susan Hawkins to approve the agenda. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Donald Wagoner entered the meeting at 6:02.

It was moved by Jeff Besing and seconded by Shari Eckert to approve the consent agenda. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Tara Vennard entered the meeting at 6:10 p.m.

It was moved by Jeff Besing and seconded by Donald Wagoner to recognize the following organizations that may raise funds in the name of the District: Palestine Academic Foundation, PTO, Parent Involvement Group, Pioneer Band Boosters, and Booster Club. Roll call voting on the motions was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Shari Eckert and seconded by Tara Vennard to accept the bread bid form Aunt Millie's Bakeries and the milk bid from Prairie Farms Dairy for the 2020-2021 school year as presented. Roll call voting on the motions was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Susan Hawkins and seconded by Jeff Besing to approve Donald Wagoner as the representative for the IASB Delegate Assembly. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Continued:

Regular Board Meeting July 20, 2020 Page 3 of 5

It was moved by Shari Eckert and seconded by Susan Hawkins to approve the Return to School District Plan as presented. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, and Biggs. Nay: Besing, Dunlap, and Wagoner. Motion carried.

It was moved by Jeff Besing and seconded by Donald Wagoner to approve the One-to-One Device Student and Parent Handbook as presented. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Jeff Besing and seconded by Donald Wagoner to approve the amended School Calendar for the 2020-2021 school year. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Waggoner, and Biggs. Nay: None.

It was moved by Shari Eckert and seconded by Tara Vennard to approve the Collaborative Agreement with Embarras River Basin Agency (ERBA) Head Start for the 2020-2021 school year. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Susan Hawkins and seconded by Tara Vennard to approve the Intergovernmental Agreement with Schools of Illinois Cooperative (SIPC). Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by J.R. Dunlap and seconded by Susan Hawkins to accept the donation of the "Boy Scout Building" from the Palestine Lions Club. Roll call voting on the motions was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by J.R. Dunlap and seconded by Tara Vennard to approve the membership to the Palestine Chamber of Commerce. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Shari Eckert and seconded by Susan Hawkins to approve the Contract with the Crawford County Health Department for District health services for the 2020-2021 school year. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Continued:

Regular Board Meeting July 20, 2020 Page 4 of 5

It was moved by Jeff Besing and seconded by J.R. Dunlap to enter into Closed Session at 7:56 p.m. for the purpose of employment, appointment, resignation, and evaluation of personnel, matters relating to an individual student, and negotiations. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

J.R. Dunlap left the meeting at 8:48 p.m.

Returned to Open Session at 8:49 p.m.

It was moved by Shari Eckert and seconded by Jeff Besing to approve the release of the following Closed Session minutes: January 21, 2020, February 18, 2020, and March 16, 2020. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Susan Hawkins and seconded by Tara Vennard to approve the destruction of Closed Session recordings prior to January 1, 2019. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Shari Eckert and seconded by Jeff Besing to accept the resignations of Jeff Walker, High School Business Teacher, effective immediately, and Leandro Agang, High School Custodian, effective July 24, 2020. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Jeff Besing and seconded by Donald Wagoner to approve maternity leave requests from Samantha Pearse, preschool teacher, for 12 weeks beginning approximately October 4, 2020 through January 3, 2021, and Erin Reinbold, Grade School office aide, beginning approximately October 19, 2020 through January 4, 2021. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None.

It was moved by Jeff Besing and seconded by Donald Wagoner to approve to post the following positions: High School business teacher, District custodian, and a High School co-assistant football coach. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Continued;

Regular Board Meeting July 20, 2020 Page 5 of 5

The agenda item to approve the High School and Grade School extracurricular lists was tabled.

It was moved by Susan Hawkins and seconded by Jeff Besing to approve the changes to the Athletic Director Contract to meet current practice. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Jeff Besing and seconded by Tara Vennard to adjourn the meeting at 8:53 p.m. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Corie Biggs, President	
Susan Hawkins, Secretary	