Regular Board Meeting March 16, 2020 Page 2 of 3

The regular meeting of the Board of Education of Palestine Community Unit School District #3 was held at Palestine Grade School, 205 S. Washington St., Palestine, Illinois on Monday, March 16, 2020. The meeting was called to order by President Biggs at 6:02 p.m.

Secretary Hawkins called the roll with the following members answering present: Jeff Besing, Lloyd (J.R.) Dunlap, Shari Eckert, Susan Hawkins, Tara Vennard, Donald Wagoner, and Corie Biggs. Absent: None. Administration present was Jo Campbell, Tangi Waldrop, and Jessica Sisil. Others present were: Jana Bayne, Marcia Schmidlin, Brandon Sisil, Stuart Smith, and Caleb Will.

It was moved by Shari Eckert and seconded by Jeff Besing to approve the amended agenda. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Shari Eckert and seconded by Donald Wagoner to approve the consent agenda. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Donald Wagoner and seconded by Shari Eckert to accept the firm fuel bid for regular gasoline and Dieselex from Wabash Valley Service Company for the 2020-2021 School Year. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: Dunlap. Motion carried.

It was moved by Jeff Besing and seconded by Tara Vennard to approve the IHSA and IESA memberships for the 2020-2021 School Year. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Tara Vennard and seconded by Susan Hawkins to approve the 2020-2021 School Calendar as presented. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Action on a request from JFL to replace their shed was tabled.

It was moved by Jeff Besing and seconded by J.R. Dunlap to approve the purchase of Blackboard Communication System. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Susan Hawkins and seconded by J.R. Dunlap to enter into Closed Session at 7:11 p.m. for the purpose of employment, appointment, resignation, and evaluation of personnel, matters relating to an individual student, and negotiations. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Continued:

Regular Board Meeting March 16, 2020 Page 3 of 3

Returned to Open Session at 7:26 p.m.

It was moved by Donald Wagoner and seconded by J.R. Dunlap to regretfully accept the retirements of Marcia Schmidlin, effective June 30, 2024 and Rhonda Eller, effective May 29, 2020, and post the position of High School head secretary. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Shari Eckert and seconded by Jeff Besing to approve payment of \$22.00 per hour to paraprofessional employees for Temporary Additional Supervisory Duty assignments. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Donald Wagoner and seconded by Tara Vennard to employ Heather Duzan as a substitute custodian, pending meeting all necessary requirements. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Shari Eckert and seconded by J.R. Dunlap to adjourn the meeting at 7:29 p.m. Roll call voting on the motion was as follows: Aye: Besing, Dunlap, Eckert, Hawkins, Vennard, Wagoner, and Biggs. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Corie Biggs, President	
Our and Handridge On and the	
Susan Hawkins, Secretary	